cadets

At the collegiate marching show a few weeks back, I signed up for more information about the Cadets Drum and Bugle Corps.  It was kind of done on a whim, although marching corps has been something I’ve wanted to do for years.  It’s been in the back of my mind for a few weeks, nagging at me.  I have a lot of doubts of ever being able to make it as a member of a DCI world class corps.

Everytime I go out onto the field and mess up, I think to myself, how could I ever march with a world class corps?  They have to be on, one hundred percent of the time.  While I think I have the heart and dedication to march DCI, I worry about my skill level.  I’m okay at best at trumpet, and I’m simply loud on baritone.  My percussion skills are nothing to write home about.  I haven’t marched with any sort of amazing ensembles, I’m not a music major.  I’m just someone who loves music.  I also worry about the physical state of my knee, which always seems to crop up in a vain attempt to ruin my life.  It’s certianally better than what it was in the spring, but my ACL is always a potential issue.  If there’s a chance I could destroy it on tour, that basically kills any hope I have of marching. 

I won’t march this summer.  There’s simply not enough time to prepare for that.  2012 would be the year.  That should be enough time to really train and prepare.   I’d have to build up my physical endurance like mad.  I’ve seen the shows.  I’ve seen them run and drum; there’s no physical way I could handle doing that. 

I have friends that also want to march Cadets 2012, so I’m not completely alone.  We’re all scared, we’re all nervous.  But we all really want to do this. 

I really want this experiance.  At least once.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mike
    Oct 19, 2010 @ 22:03:31

    What would consider marching if you went out for it? Just curious.

    And most of the people in Cadets started off small. Couldn’t hurt to join a smaller corps this summer before you go for the big one. (And, if you’re doing percussion, maybe there’s a local competitive line? It can’t hurt.)

    And the reason they never screw up is they practice like no other. Imagine band 24/7 and how incredible you’d be as a result. They’re not superhuman. (Well, some of them might be. Have you SEEN RCC’s tenor line?! But most of them are mortal.)

    Long story short, I say go for it! I don’t know if I’ll ever have the time to march any World (or Open) class corps, but hopefully Peake will at least get me some of the chops I need. And hey, what do you have to lose?

    Reply

  2. Casey
    Oct 20, 2010 @ 14:05:09

    Probably trumpet or baritone. For obvious reasons on trumpet, seeing as I’ve played it since I was nine. Baritone’s a possibility because a friend up here wants to march it in Cadets but he’s switching from trombone and I offered to impart what little I know about it to help him out.

    If I were to march DCA as a starter, it’d interfere with school, and I can’t miss a week of class just to march. With this it’s kind of like go hard or go home. And I haven’t heard of many DCI open corps from around here. The fact that I go to school about twenty minutes from the Cadet’s home base is kinda one of the main factors into thinking I can do this.

    RCC’s just disgustingly ridiculous, and I’m not outstanding at any instrument that I play, I just like to do it. And I really want to march for someone awesome for once. Thanks for the vote of confidence, how’s Peake going?

    Reply

  3. Mike
    Oct 20, 2010 @ 14:57:24

    No clue yet. First camp was last Sunday. The chop level is ridiculous…the tenor and snare techs are psychos. Thank goodness the bass tech has his head on straight.

    Reply

Leave a comment