you are not alone

I have been told on many occasions that I am not alone.  On the subject of my feminism, I have always felt like the black sheep; the oddball.  This clearly has never stopped my views, although it has made it really difficult at times.

I’ve finally found people who have my same ideas.  I’ve finally found a place where I can be myself and not be afraid to be myself.  Today, while making a point in my Sustainable Livings class, I mentioned how I always felt like a minority because of my feminist ideas.  It tied in with our discussion about whether or not someone can stand along and change the world.  It’s one reason why I’m so passionate about the subject.

My friend and suitemate tapped me and showed me something she wrote.  It said, “I’m also a super feminist, so you are not alone.”

This meant so much to me.  It meant so much to me to learn that there are other people like me.  I knew there would be, but going to the high school I went to, I had some serious doubts.  I knew I was ostracized sometimes because of makes me how I felt about this.  Knowing that there is someone more like you out there is such a comforting feeling, especially when you’re in a new environment where you have to start all over again. 

So, the point is, no matter how lost and alone you may feel, there is always someone, somewhere that has a similar idea, thought or feeling.  You are never alone.  There is no alone. 

This isn’t just about finding another feminist.  This is about the realization that people can be honest about themselves and be accepted for it.  I’m here at college, and I’m not hiding things.  I’m not hiding my political or religious views.  I’m still not going to go around trying to convince everyone that my way is the only way, because I hate when people are like that.  But this time around, this time I plan on being myself, and not who my environment wants me to be.  The place that I spent the last four years wanted me to fit a mold.  The place that I will be spending the next four years wants me to be myself.  

Will I run into people who don’t like me for my ideas?  Yes.  There’s no question about it.  As the saying goes-“haters gonna hate.”  But am I going to let it get me down?  No.  I am beautiful, and my ideas are beautiful.  I can change things, I can change the world.  There is both a lot I can do and a lot I want to do to make this world a better place, not just for me but for everyone.  And I can.  Because I am not alone.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. omgitzamoose22
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 09:29:17

    I really really really liked this post Casey. Just sayin’. 🙂 ❤

    Reply

Leave a comment